School Logo


At St Alban's Catholic Primary School we offer a broad and balanced and curriculum for our pupils from Reception to Year 6.

All pupils from Nursery to Year 2 follow the Foundation Phase curriculum, whilst pupils in Years 3 - 6 ( KS2) follow the curriculum as set out in the Curriculum 2008 documentation until 2022 when we will officially begin our journey with the New Curriculum for Wales.
We also integrate the Literacy  and Numeracy framework into all of our planning to ensure that the acquisition of Literacy and Numeracy skills is at the forefront of our lessons.
Our curriculum is differentiated to meet the needs of all of our pupils allowing individuals to develop at their own pace having been set the appropriate level of challenge. 
We also offer a wide range of extra curricular activities to enhance the curriculum and give our pupils a range of skills and experiences.

A New Curriculum for Wales 

Exciting times for the young people and teachers of Wales.

A new curriculum has been developed for settings and schools in Wales. The curriculum will be used throughout Wales by 2022. 

The purpose of the new curriculum is to support our children and young people to be:

  • ambitious, capable learners, ready to learn throughout their lives
  • enterprising, creative contributors, ready to play a full part in life and work
  • ethical, informed citizens of Wales and the world
  • healthy, confident individuals, ready to lead fulfilling lives as valued members of society.


The new curriculum includes:

  • 6 Areas of Learning and Experience from 3 to 16
  • 3 cross curricular responsibilities: literacy, numeracy and digital competence
  • progression reference points at ages 5, 8, 11, 14 and 16
  • achievement outcomes which describe expected achievements at each progression reference point.

The six ‘Areas of Learning and Experience (AoLE).

  • Expressive arts.
  • Health and well-being.
  • Humanities (including RE which should remain compulsory to age 16).
  • Languages, literacy and communication (including Welsh, which should remain compulsory to age 16, and modern foreign languages).
  • Mathematics and numeracy.
  • Science and technology.


It will also include three cross-curricular responsibilities: literacy, numeracy and digital competence.

Literacy and Numeracy Framework
The Literacy and Numeracy framework has been designed by the Welsh Government (WG), so that our children develop excellent literacy and numeracy skills during their time at school. It provides all learners aged 5 – 14 years with clear annual expected outcomes for literacy and numeracy.
The LNF sets the skills we expect learners to develop.
Within literacy we expect learners to become accomplished in:
  oracy across the curriculum
  reading across the curriculum
  writing across the curriculum

Within numeracy we expect learners to become accomplished in:
 developing numerical reasoning
 using number skills
• using measuring skills
 using data skills.

Teachers use the LNF to:
• develop curriculum content to ensure that all learners have opportunities to develop and refine the skills set out in the LNF
• integrate literacy and numeracy into their teaching – whatever the subject matter
• inform discussions with parents/guardians, learners and other teachers about learner performance
• help learners with their own self-assessment activities and planning for learning
monitor, assess and report on individual learner performance
identify learners who may benefit from intervention or who are working beyond age-related expectations.
National Tests
In May, pupils in Years 2-6 will be expected to carryout Literacy and Numeracy National Tests. It is very important your child is in school to take the tests. 
The reading tests are made up of short questions based on two or more texts. Some of the questions check how well the text has been understood, others aim to find out if children are able to make judgements about what they are reading.
There are two kinds of numeracy tests. 
1.     The procedural test measures skills in number, measuring and data skills. 
2.     The reasoning test measures how well children can use what they know to solve everyday problems. ​
Click below to download a document that explains the National Tests and what the results can tell you about your child's progress.
​LNF National Tests - Information for Parents
LNF Welsh Government Website
Reading and Numeracy test results
This short animation talks parents/carers through the National Reading and Numeracy Test reports.


Digital Competency Framework

Digital competence is one of 3 cross-curricular responsibilities, alongside literacy and numeracy. It focuses on developing digital skills which can be applied to a wide range of subjects and scenarios.
The Framework has 4 strands of equal importance, each with a number of elements.
Citizenship – which includes:
Identity, image and reputation
Health and well-being
Digital rights, licensing and ownership
Online behaviour and cyberbullying.
Interacting and collaborating – which includes:
Storing and sharing.
Producing – which includes:
Planning, sourcing and searching
Evaluating and improving.
Data and computational thinking – which includes:
Problem solving and modelling
Data and information literacy
Watch the video about the Digital competence framework. Find out why and what the children will be learning 
Click here to view the Digital Competence Framework.